A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

  Whoops, I forgot to post a “hump-day joke”  last night.  Well, here it is a lttle late.  I worked in oncology again today, so I’ve got another cancer joke!  We did surgery for thyroid cancer.  Anything to do with taking parts out of the neck is very time consuming and tedious.  Apparently, there’s  a lot of very important things that are jam packed in the neck area that we have to be really careful not to accidentally cut, burn, pull, or even stretch.  A neck dissection to get even a pea size tumor can take many hours to do. Because this isn’t my primary service, this can be quite the learning experience.  It was way cool and I learned a lot about the anatomy of the neck.

Baseball In Heaven Two old baseball buddies with lung cancer were chatting on a park bench. Paul says, “I hope they have a baseball team in heaven.” “Me too”, says Jack. “Tell you what”, says Paul, “If I die first, I’ll give you a message about whether there is baseball in Heaven. If you die first, you can do the same for me.” A year later, Paul is dead and Jack is sitting on the park bench when he hears: “Jack, it’s me, Paul. I have great news! Guess what. There really is a baseball team in heaven.” “Thank God”, sighs Jack, “Now I can die in peace.” “I’m glad you feel that way,” says Paul, “because you’re pitching tomorrow!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

