A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

In dealing with an in-house gossip monger

 Wanna hear the greatest joke ever??
Sure…
Two women were sitting quietly, minding their own business…..

OK, that was bad… how about another?

Paula, the town gossip, kept sticking her nose into other people’s business.

Most local residents were unappreciative of her activities, but feared her enough to maintain their silence. However, she made a mistake when she recently accused John, a local man, of being an alcoholic after she saw his pickup truck parked outside the town’s only bar one afternoon.

John, a man of few words, stared at her for a moment and walked away. Later that evening, he parked his pickup truck in front of her house and left it there all night.

Well, that’s probably not nice, and gossip jokes are hard to come by.  But it drives me to wonder …why do we have women in this world that just can’t mind their own business?  I mean as in major “shit mongerer.”  Now before you blow a aneurysm, I know that it’s not just women out there that are busybodies.   Let me explain myself… I am a nurse, and the women in my profession out number us guys by about a hundred to one.  I’m sure if you work in a male dominate arena like welders, or steel workers, there would probably be guy trouble makers too.  I’m just calling it  as I see it… fair enough?

Because of my HIPAA issue, I make a point never to not use proper names, so for conversation sake, I’ll call her Paula.  There’s this one nurse where I work who is the biggest shit-stirrer I’ve ever known.  Well, Paula is the only nurse that still insists on working the “break shift” in our entire department.  She likes to come in at 9am and go from room to room giving each and every nurse their fifteen minute break. She does this just to get the dirt on the latest gossip.  Paula would get angry with me because, when I did the charge nurse thing, I wouldn’t talk with her on anything that was not related to patient care.  We even had a “come to Jesus” talk about her gossiping and rumor spreading and how it was doing a serious disservice to the overall morale.  I even told her straight up that she “was a shit stirrer and for that, I would never trust her.”  That was probably not the smartest thing to do, because she hated me there after for not being part of her gossip ring.

Why do people feel compelled to stir trouble?   Gossip is not necessarily ‘talking about’ people. Gossip is ‘talking leery against’ people,  and in the absence of concrete grounds.
While we can talk about people’s achievements and their good behavioural patterns, which can be “inspiring and motivating”; some people find wayward pleasure in  producing anything
that can make their subject stink and look bad. There can be no other explanation to this other than an attempt to cover their own inadequacies and failures to be what they hoped for. It’s like…..”if they can’t be adorable, then no one can”. That’s how selfish a gossiper can be. Gossip’s main job is to be embraced by a number of people who’ll rather waste time to listen, than walk away.  See, it’s a two way street that gives the gossiper the power.  In our department, Paula seems to have more than enough disgruntled people who is eager to wait and listen just to stir trouble. I know that there is a lot of work that must be done in order to just get this one poop  stirrer under control.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

