A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Vacation

 

amabamaI got in late last night.  It was dark and after 16 hour travel time, I was a little tired.  We ate a quick meal at the “Cracker Barrel.”  A restaurant that serves Southern style comfort foods.  I had the slab of meatloaf with a side  of beans floating with a huge hunk of ham in a sheen of pork grease.  Yep, I miss Southern cooking.  On the other hand, I think if I had been eating this all along, I’d probably already be dead.

 

First day in Alabama.  I get up for my first Alabama morning in several years and it’s beautiful. It’s about 68 degrees, bright and sunny.  Not a cloud in the sky.  I go over my list of things to do.  My dads health hasn’t been doing well and that’s one of the reasons that I’m here.  To assess and plan care.   I realized his physical health is declining. However his mental health is a bit more difficult to assess.  I hope to get this figured out in the days to come.

I get up have a cup of coffee.  Mom’s already heading out the door,  “I’ve got some errands to run,  here…”  as she hands me a string of keys.  I look down, “What’s this… what do you want me to do?”   You dad is going to want to go out and run some errands.  You’ll probably want to tag along.  So…   if you want to live,  you’ll drive,”  and she departed with a smile.  Yep, this is going to be a fun vacation.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

