A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Arguement with my Son

 

one eye

The day I returned from my vacation, I got into an argument with my youngest son.  My youngest son is a liberal.  He’s a taker.  This is a difficult thing for me to accept but that’s life.   It’s nothing I could have done.  I raised him with as good conservative values, honor, and integrity to the best of my ability.  Sometimes you just have to accept that some things are out of your ability.  Kids simply grow up and find their own way and as a parent, there’s nothing you can do about it.

 

We still have a good relationship and we get together and talk on occasion.  He frequently quotes Gandhi to me.  I know I’m not the fastest, but a few days ago, while I was on a rant about some crazy goings on in the Middle East, he said, “an eye for an eye will  only leave the whole world blind. You should practice forgiveness and find a better way…”  This stopped me in my tracks.  After a while of careful thought,  ”Hey,  I disagree…  I mean, if you think about it, that is absolutely impossible”, I said.  It couldn’t  leave the world “blind.”  There would always be one guy left with one eye.  How would the last blind guy find the remaining eye of the last one eyed guy?   Hmmm, answer me that, smarty pants.  He was not at all amused at my wit or my humor.

 

So this leaves me with the famous quote by which is probably a little more applicable in my situation, my current argument, dealing with the idiots in Washington, their politics,  dealings with the Middle East, how the radical Islamist people should be dealt with… and yes, the liberals that (against my will) teach my son Gandhi quotes.  Anyhow, here’s a quote that I would prefer by  Desiderius Erasmus of Rotterdam around 1466.  This is more applicable with smarty pants liberals;  ”In a world of the blind, the one eyed guy would be king.”  Considering the general meaning; Even those without much ability or talent are viewed highly by those with no ability or talent at all.

It’s an better explanation, well at least in my head, why we have the most stupid of idiots in teaching positions in our universities, in power in this country,  and the world for that matter.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

