A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Scouting ….The New Jamboree

 

scouting

I don’t like to name names of people and places due to the high potential for liability and law suit.  But I will this time.  I worked for six years as the Director of Nursing in a facility in Libby Montana.  The name of the place was the LibbyCareCenter.  If was a for-profit facility owned by Centennial Health Care. A company that owns and manages over a hundred hospitals and nursing homes across the country.

When I was there, the United Way called me and asked for donations toward their cause.  They also said that they were sponsoring a boycott of the Boy Scouts of America because of their  issues with not having gay troop leaders.   At that time, I had my three sons as boy scouts.  I knew that 100% of the parents of the Libby scout troop were dead set against having openly gay troop leaders.  When the United Way called,  I told them that “not only will I not donate money to your cause, but I will not allow any of my 110 employees to donate any money to this cause.  I will have payroll deduction that can go to The Boy Scouts of America if they wish, but no money at all will ever go to the United Way as long as I am the director.”  The United Way representative responded,  “do what you feel you must, but we’ll see what happens when I talk to your corporate headquarters.”

Much to my disbelief,  Centennial Health Care HQ, must have been a Boy Scout supporter because they said that they supported me in my endeavors against the establishment of gay boy scout troop leaders.  The United Way people were very unhappy.

That was a number of years ago.  I still haven’t given a cent to the United Way and I’m pretty sure the corporate office at Centennial  did the same.   I cannot say enough good stuff about the people at Centennial head quarters.   But in the end,  it has been a long and arduous battle and I,  and the Boy Scouts have lost.  It seems that the Boy Scouts of America has finally given in the tremendous PC pressure of the gay rights activists.

 

I just read this article from (CNN) — Openly gay youths will be allowed to join scouting.  Openly gay men will be allowed to lead scouting troops,  a historic decision the Boy Scouts of America says will keep it unclouded by “a single, divisive, and unresolved societal issue.”

More than 60% of the group’s 1,400-member national council voted Thursday at an annual meeting in Grapevine, Texas, for the change, which takes effect Jan. 1.

“No one may be denied membership in the Boy Scouts of America on the basis of sexual orientation or preference alone,” says the resolution.

I think that this is yet another decisive blow towards destroying Christianity in America.

Read the FULL ARTICLE here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

