A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

I’ve Been Shot

 

 

needle

I got my flu shot today!  I’ve never had a flu shot in my life.  I’ve always believed that natural occurring immunity (that you develop in your own body)  is what’s best for you.  Well, at least better than some artificial, laboratory grown immunity. 

 Now that I’m getting older, I think that I may be thinking a little differently.  I’ve run right past the half-century mark and I really feel it.  Last year I had a heart attack  and  only a few short months later,  I got the flu.  I couldn’t shake it.   It went on and on and eventually turned into pneumonia.  Let’s say,  I got really sick.  So sick that my wife told me that I had better get a flu shot this year or I’d never hear the end of it.  As a matter of fact, if I continued to refuse the flu shot and I actually got the flu again this year,  she said, “it had better be fatal.”     She was pretty angry at me.  And you know how angry women can be. 

 So, in the interest of family harmony, I went down to the clinic and got my free flu shot… the first one in my life.  You know what.  It wasn’t that bad… and I even got a sticker!

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

