A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Finally… Some Good News From the Supreme Court!

speedTrap

Strangely enough, this is an issue that is dear to my heart. The politicians, traffic cops, city officials, even the judges, all say the same thing. They blather on about how speed traps are “to stop speeders” and to “enhanced public safety.” They even say this about the “photo camera” traps you see on most intersections, now a days. I say that they are all full of crap. I am certain that it isn’t about safety, and it’s all about enhanced revenue. Speed traps are nothing more than a “random tax” applied to motorists. As a protest, I always flash my headlights to warn other drivers about an upcoming speed trap. If I see the cop-van setting up a speed trap in my neighborhood, I will even go as far as to put up a sign, warning, “speed trap ahead.” This usually gets them really upset… like I care.

 Flashing headlights to warn of speed traps is “protected speech”, judge rules

Flashing headlights to warn other drivers of speed traps is constitutionally protected speech, ruled a Missouri judge on Monday.

 In November of 2012, Michael Elli was pulled over by Ellisville police and was accused of “flashing lights on his vehicle . . . warning of speed trap ahead,” according to court papers obtained by The Wall Street Journal.

Elli, a retired West County resident who hadn’t been accused of a moving violation for more than 35 years, was told the standard fine for the charge was $1,000.

 The city dropped the charge against Elli awhile ago, but the American Civil Liberties Union sued on Elli’s behalf anyway, claiming the arrest violates the First Amendment right to free speech. Tony Rothert, an attorney with the ACLU, explained the basis for that claim:

 I’ve actually had two of these call me lucky I guess. I’ve stopped doing this as I don’t need the hassle of dealing with asshole cops.

 Found at Bad Blue Prep

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

