A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Gun Safety

toe1

Nurses tend to get drawn into things that they would rather not do.  Our housekeeper accidentally chopped off her thumb while working in the yard and brought it to me “to fix,” at my house.   My neighbor came over and asked me to help her deliver her daughter’s baby… oh, and she waited to ask until the daughter was in the full throws of hard labor.   My cousin discharged his pistol while getting into his truck and “shot himself in the calf” is another example.  He drove not to the hospital, but to my house and came in right in the middle of dinner. My uncle and Godfather, asked me to fix his snake bite (Cottonmouth). Here’s one another nurse friend sent me.  I had to laugh out loud.  She said that this was a surprise for her.  It’s great when it happens to other people.   I still get a giggle when I look at it.   I’m sorry, but most people have a really difficult time trying to grasp the humor of an old ER nurse.

45 ACP Keep your finger off of the trigger

toe2

Gun safety everyone. This is why it’s so important to follow the rules.

I haven’t talked about “Gun Safety Rules” in a while. The four rules are the core of gun safety.  I was a NRA gun safety instructor a few years back.  I even worked for a security company many years back.  I have had a concealed carry permit for 32 years and somehow, in all those years, I haven’t had a single negligent discharge.  I have managed to keep from shooting myself or anyone else, for that matter. There have always been a bunch of “rules” when dealing with anything.  Guns are no different.  “Keep your powder dry.”  “Don’t fire until you see the whites of their eyes.” “Never handle a weapon behind the firing line.”  whatever.  There are a lot of rules.  The rules of gun handling were broken down to only four absolutes.  The credit for this goes to Col. Jeff Cooper.

Contrary to what most liberals believe, guns can be very safe.  I find that if you learn Jeff Cooper’s Four Rules of Gun Safety and live by them whenever you are dealing with a firearm, you can be safe.   

 

  1. All guns are always loaded. Even if they are not, treat them as if they are.  
  2. Never point the gun at anything you are not willing to kill or destroy. (For anyone who insists that the gun is unloaded, see rule 1.)
  3. Keep your finger off the trigger until your sights are on target (and you have made the decision to shoot).
  4. Always identify and be sure of your target. and anything that may be beyond it.

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

