A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Ebola in America

ebola

Yesterday I was scrubbed in a case with a general surgeon who regularly goes on “mission trips” to Africa to do surgery on the poor African people who have nothing to call their own but sickness and disease. He started, “you know this ebola issue is terrible. Someone should do something. We should start a mission trip just for that. If I were to organize an ebola mission trip, would you be interested in going with us to Africa?”   I looked at him like he was crazy and responded. “Well, Dr. Smith, I think that I will just wait until the ebola comes to me… Then I’ll   take care of the sick people here in America until I succumb to the disease myself.”  He said that I “was silly” for thinking that way. But I feel that he is wrong in so many ways. It will come here, sooner or later. Because of world travel and the people that is coming and going from the “hot zones” and the extended incubation period of this new strain, t is only a matter of time.

On a slightly different note, but still about sending people into the hot zone to bring it back to America I ran across this article about Obama. I have written many times on how our own “Commander in Chief” has total disdain for our American Military. Here’s yet another example.   With my own son gearing up for another deployment (destination unknown at this time), It makes me nervous.

 

Frankly, I’d rather go to Fallujah…

H/T to R.D. Walker

Obama is sending thousands of US troops into the ebola hot zone.

The United States government is sending thousands of military troops to the west African nation of Liberia as part of the Obama administration’s Ebola virus-response strategy, the White House said late Monday night.

‘U.S. Africa Command will set up a Joint Force Command headquartered in Monrovia, Liberia, to provide regional command and control support to U.S. military activities and facilitate coordination with U.S. government and international relief efforts,’ a statement from the White House press office said.

‘A general from U.S. Army Africa, the Army component of U.S. Africa Command (AFRICOM), will lead this effort, which will involve an estimated 3,000 U.S. forces.’

Liberia is the hardest-hit of the four west African nations that have confirmed Ebola cases, accounting for more than one-half of the fatalities. The others are Sierra Leone, Guinea and, to a lesser extent, Nigeria.

It turns out he isn’t against “boots on the ground” per se…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

