A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Now that’s a thrill ride!

coaster

I haven’t made any posts lately. I’ve been a little lazy. Also, the wife and I went on a vacation down South. We went to the “Six Flags over Georgia” theme park. I’m not usually an adrenaline junkie, we both agree that we’re not getting any younger.   If we are to do any thrill rides, we had better get them out of our system before we get too old and broken down to ride. I already feel guilty for walking past the signs boldly stating you shouldn’t ride if you are pregnant or have a back condition or a heart condition.   Two out of three should cause me to question my being there. Anyway, we went on to ride all of their best roller coasters for the weekend.   Afterward, we went on down to Alabama to visit my family. It was fun.

On the last day before we departed on our vacation, the neurosurgeon that I was working with asked me why I was going to Georgia. I had to explain that because I was getting older, I had to pick and choose in order to ride the higher quality roller coasters at the parks that were well maintained and proven. I was no longer able to take on the cheaper rides.   I will watch the roller coaster and see the curves and dips before I actually get in line. I went on to tell him that the unexpected stuff was the real thrill… the stuff that I didn’t think my heart could take. The ride at the county fair that was maintained by a carney with only six teeth and a screw driver, was the actual real thrill. This is where the unexpected happens. And in my advanced age, this is the very rides that I strive to avoid.

I had forgotten about our conversation until I had returned. He sent me this article about a “thrill ride” in England that made me laugh…

RIPON, England, Sept. 30 (UPI) — A theme park confirmed a young deer was struck by a roller coaster, killing the animal and covering most of the passengers in blood.
A spokeswoman for the Lightwater Valley theme park near Ripon, England, confirmed the deer wandered Saturday morning onto the track of “The Ultimate,” billed as Europe’s longest roller coaster, and was struck.
“We can confirm a young deer did unfortunately get hit by the Ultimate train yesterday and was killed instantly,” the spokeswoman said. “There is a large perimeter fence surrounding the theme park but occasionally wild animals do manage to stray onto the park during the night.”
The roller coaster was closed for 30 minutes before resuming normal operations.
Reports indicate passengers were sprayed with the animal’s blood, but there were no human injuries from the crash.

Wow, imagine being in the front row seats.

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

