A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Media Bias

media2

I’m not even going to weigh in on the circus revolving around Brian Williams and his fabrication of news stories. I’ve been saying for years that our American news networks are seriously bias. Bias to the point of being similar to Pravda. All of the major news (even Fox) is guilty. When the federal government welds the power of the IRS to attack perceived enemies like an attack dog, everyone in the media prints exactly what the White House wants to hear. NBS has simply been the one caught in a lie.

I grew up with Walter Cronkite . He gave the news, plain and simple, with a non-bias report. The news was simply the news as it happened. Then gradually, they started working in their own special agenda. Soon all news networks had a spin. I remember the first time I saw a news network lie. It was NBC reporting the 82 Chevy truck with exploding gas tanks. NBC even filmed one exploding. Then a slightly less bias private agency (Consumer Reports) tried to repeat the experiment. They couldn’t make the truck explode. They analyzed the video and found that NBC had used lit flares, attached to the fuel tanks to force the trucks to explode on impact. This was a big thing for me at the time. I not only drove one of those trucks, but I was a Chevy mechanic employed by a GM dealership at the time. When this story broke, I was mentally scarred. I had trusted the news as it was reported, and now I didn’t know what to believe.

So until we can get back to simply reporting the news as it happens, like Walter used to do, I will take anything these guys say with a grain of salt.

 

Here’s another news story as a humorous example of bias…

 

 

A biker is riding by the zoo, when he sees a little girl leaning into the lion’s cage. Suddenly, the lion grabs her by the cuff of her jacket and tries to pull her inside to slaughter her before the eyes of her screaming parents.
The biker jumps off his bike, runs to the cage, and hits the lion square on the nose with a powerful punch. Whimpering from the pain, the lion jumps back, letting go of the girl, and the biker brings her to her terrified parents, who thank him endlessly.
A New York Times reporter has witnessed the whole scene, and addressing the biker, says, “Sir, this was the most gallant and brave thing I saw a man do in my whole life.”
“Why, it was nothing, really, the lion was behind bars. I just saw this little kid in danger, and acted as I felt right.”
“Well, I’ll make sure this won’t go unnoticed. I’m a journalist from the New York Times, you know, and tomorrow’s paper will have this on the front page. I’m going to write all about it. So tell me sir, what motorcycle do you ride and what political affiliation do you have?”
“A Harley Davidson, and I am a Republican.”
The journalist leaves.
The following morning the biker buys the New York Times and reads, on the front page:
*REPUBLICAN BIKER GANG MEMBER ASSAULTS AFRICAN IMMIGRANT AND STEALS HIS LUNCH*

Oh, by the way, for those from New York, the second half of this post was meant to be a joke… just so you know.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

