A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Just Another Day Off

11149368_1234064623289655_1864824977374925758_n

Last week I made a trade at work the other day.  My charge nurse called me at home and asked, “Hey, we have a heavy schedule on Tuesday and we’re short handed.  Monday is a light day and we don’t need the nurses we have.  Would you be willing to trade your off day to help out?”   Thinking I could help out and also earn a few bonus points for the next time I put in for some vacation… I agreed.

Well, my wife and I usually work the same days and this little deal changed the schedule.  Now we are working different days.  She wasn’t so happy.  Oh well, I don’t know what she will do.  But I got up with my middle son and had a “boys day out.”   I called him and asked, “Hey Jacob,  I have the day off, wanna do something?”  He responded, “I had some things to do, but I don’t want this to turn into some bad rendition of a Harry Chapin song… Come by and pick me up.  I’ll be ready when you get here.”

We went to Cabela’s,  ate out, and had some fun together.

Everyone that has kids should make an extra effort to make a day off to do something fun. Kids grow up, get married and move off.  You get old and debilitated, eventually die.  Make the time and I think both of you will appreciate it even more later on.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

