A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

New Gun

M9

This is my blog and I’m allowed personal gun posts. Here’s one…  I went to the gun store to buy some speed loaders for my .38 and found a Beretta sale.  I couldn’t help it.  They had a Beretta 9mm with extra magazine, range bag, ear protectors, glasses and some other odds and ends with a  $100 bucks off coupon.  It came to around $400 even.

It’s a Beretta M9. Standard issue to our Soldiers. 15 rounds of 9 mm goodness. This is the Star of “Diehard.” And “Lethal Weapon.” So, you ask, why this? Why now?  Well, that’s a story for another time.  I had a Beretta once and I traded it off and was sorry ever since.  Now the chance to own another couldn’t be ignored.

The Beretta is a full size pistol that is pretty reliable and shoots pretty accurately.  The parts are cheap and plentiful,  and the ammo is cheap.  Heck, the US military has used the Beretta for over 30 years.  I  know that there has been ongoing controversy since 1985. The U.S. military replaced the .45 caliber 1911 pistol with the M9 in 1985 and began using the 9mm NATO round at that time. Soldiers who have served in Iraq and Afghanistan have said that the 9mm round is not powerful enough to be effective in combat.  I don’t  know about that.  The 9mm has killed a lot of people since it’s beginning in 1902 and it will probably continue to do it’s job with great efficiency for many years to come.

As far as the controversy, I own both.  I find that both the 9mm and the .45 are equally good in what they do.

You want to hear the funniest thing about this M9? It came with two magazines. Two TEN ROUND magazines. Thanks Maryland!   I’ll be happier when Beretta’s new production plant in Tennessee is up and running.  The really nice guys at Keith’s Sporting Goods let me trade up for two 15 rounders.  Heck,  I went ahead and bought two additional full size magazines.  You never know when those pesky liberals will enact another “high capacity” magazine ban.  While I was on a roll, I even got a couple 30 rounders too.  Because I can… So, say hello to the first Beretta in the Taylor. armory… That is all for today.

I’m headed off to the range. That’s Tri-County. See ya there

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

