A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

Radical Ideas

surg2

I think it’s a little ironic that I work in surgery.  I’m a surgical nurse and yet, I don’t actually believe in surgery.  OK, If you accidentally fall and break your leg,  and your under 70,  and you have insurance, or some other way to easily pay your bill,  and you have no other co-morbidities,  or your otherwise basically healthy… yes you should get it fixed.

I feel that about 96% of what we do in the medical world is not necessary.  Living a clean healthy life, eating good food and regular exercise is all anyone really needs.  Yes, there are always exceptions but this is for most people…  Normal people.  There are few who have rotten luck and was dealt a bad hand with the deck of genetic cards.

I went to see my cardiologist for a check-up this week.  I did a stress test, he stuck a needle in my arm and drew a bunch of blood.  He sat down and talked to me to explain the findings.  He said that I have rotten genetics and that I would eventually need surgery.

I found it a little funny. Especially after I explained my feelings for surgery and my plan of ongoing treatment.  He said that he was concerned and “sounded radical” …

I mean “eating a healthy diet, walking (exercising) everyday, and stress reduction is considered radical.  Allowing someone to slice your chest open and graft your leg veins into your heart is considered normal and conservative.”

Hmmm

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

