A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

My take on Star Wars VII

image

I was working in a urology room the other day. We were well into the procedure and everything was going very well, and the resident wants to spark up a conversation. “Hey, has anyone seen the new Star Wars trailer? I can’t wait till it comes out. I’ve already pre-purchased my tickets for the opening night!”   I looked at him a little confused, “isn’t that, like in December?” He was still gleeful, “Yes, December, but I can’t wait.”   I thought to myself, even if this was indeed a “wonderful movie of a lifetime” that he thinks it is, I still wouldn’t pre-purchase tickets way out in December. Seeing that I wasn’t excited about this, he said, “I guess you’re not a science fiction fan.” Now he was really trying to hurt me. I explained first that “Star Wars,” the franchise, is NOT a science fiction. It is fantasy. Star Trek is science fiction. Seeing the question on his face clued me in that he was clearly a novice. “OK, is there one shred of reasoning as to exactly how the Millennium Falcon is propelled through space?…nope”   Star Trek and other stories that are of the Science fiction genre go to great detail to explain the workings of the things that they use. Although improbable, the physics must seem workable and certainly believable to be science fiction. Magic crystals to power your light saber is not acceptable. Now do you understand?” He seem to agree. I went on, “I have to agree that I really enjoyed the first Star Wars, with the models and special effects. But when the started using CGI, it was cheapened. Then when the brought in Jar Jar Binks , that was the straw that broke the camels back. This became a stupid Sesame Street level show. I can see making the move a little less dark. Maybe a little more kid-friendly, but they over did it and in turn lost the loyal crowd.   I suddenly had no use for Star Wars… So when this newest one comes out, I might see it when it comes to Redbox.

But if any of you, out there are “excited” about the new Star Wars… here’s the official trailer at The Force Awakens Official Teaser .

shatner

I was thinking of probable alternate names for this thing.  Maybe they should have called it something else besides  “The Force Awakens.”

  • Star Wars – The Next Generation
  • Sith – Get off our Lawn
  • Crap, We’ve Gotten Old

And there’s people still very anxiously wanting for December 18th to get here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

