A Nurse With Attitude

Where Dark Cynical Humor, Nursing Issues, and Politics Seem to Merge

When the World is on Fire, Be thankful.

For years, I’ve watched the news and kept up to date with the local and national political scene.  If you review this very blog, you can see how I’ve felt.  In this last year, I’ve made a commitment to work on only those things that I am able to make a constructive change.

Today I made the mistake of turning on the news. I found my senses instantly assaulted with stories of fighting politicians, corrupt corporations, and countless crimes. It seemed like the only news worth showing was mankind at its very worst. It seemed like the only thing they wanted to talk about was what went wrong today.

After a few minutes I turned the television back off. I poured myself a glass of wine, sat down at my kitchen table, and instead thought about what went right today. Today the sun came over the horizon and bathed the world in its golden, life-giving light. Today my little house once again kept me warm, safe, and dry. Today I had 3 meals of wonderful food that kept me healthy, alive, and energized for the work of the day. I went to my job and was able to relieve several people of their potentially devastating cancer.  Today, whenever I reached my hand down I had a furry head to pet as my cat shared his unconditional love with me. Today I got to hug and encourage my sons and see the joy that they share with the world.

Today I played with my grandbaby and was once again amazed at how beautiful she is. Today I got a call from family back in Alabama and they shared their lives and their love with me. Today I shared a few messages of love and joy myself.

Today I felt God’s warm love for me flowing through all of His creation and encouraging me to once again spread His love, tell His truth, and shine His light. When you are at the end of your days in this world,  are you going to dwell on what went wrong or rejoice in what went right? God showers this world in goodness all the time, and we need only to open our hearts to see it. Rejoice in everything that goes right in your life. Give thanks for it. And do your best to add your own goodness, kindness, and love to it as well. By doing this you will be helping God to make this Earth a lot more like Heaven.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

